RAILBELT GIRL'S FLAG FOOTBALL CONFERENCE BYLAWS (Updated August 2024)

Article I: PURPOSE

- 1. To act as the governing body for the Railbelt Girl's Flag- Football Conference
- 2. To allow member schools and individual athletes to participate and receive recognition.
- 3. To ensure that safety procedures are enforced for the protection of all participants.

Article II: MEMBER SCHOOLS

• Colony High School Knights

Houston High School
 Hawks (JV only 2024)

Lathrop High School Malemute
 North Pole High School Patriots
 Palmer High School Moose

• Redington High School Huskies (JV only 2024)

Wasilla High School WarriorsWest Valley High School Wolfpack

- Starting in 2025; Colony, Houston, Palmer, and Redington will become varsity teams and will fully compete in the Railbelt Conference. The 2025 Railbelt Conference Tournament will include all 8 schools.
- The 2024 Railbelt Conference tournament will include the Co-op team of Colony/Palmer, Lathrop, North Pole, Wasilla and West Valley.

Article III: OFFICERS

The Railbelt Conference bylaws will be the governing body of the Girl's Flag Football Railbelt Conference.

Article IV: BYLAWS

Section 1: Season

The Alaska School Activities Association shall establish the starting and ending dates for Girl's Flag football.

Section 4: Team Structure

- Varsity teams shall consist of player's grades 9-12.
- Junior Varsity teams shall consist of player's grades 9-11.

Section 5: Scheduling

A maximum of a 22-game schedule in one season, exclusive of post-season tournament play. For the purpose of the 2024 school year, each school will play each other twice with both games counting toward the conference tournament seeding. Starting in 2025, a home-home schedule will be followed unless a game is canceled due to weather or natural disaster and/or other circumstances beyond the control of the school(s). In this case, every attempt will be made to try to reschedule the canceled game(s).

Section 6: Rules and Regulations

Girl's Flag Football will be contested using NISRA rules with a few modifications. Modifications:

- A 100 yd field is used.
- Mouth Guards are required.

Section 7: Conference Championship

The football Championship for the conference is to be determined by that team's Conference win-loss record. In the case of a two- or three-way tie, each team will be designated as "Co-Champions" and will receive first place plaques. Tie breaking procedures for seeding purposes for the playoffs will be as follows:

- 1. Record in Conference
- 2. Head-to-Head in Conference games
- 3. Head-to-Head in all games
- 4. Common Opponents in and out of Conference
- 5. Point differential (scored—allowed) in games between the tied schools
- 6. Fewest points allowed in games between the tied teams
- 7. Fewest points allowed in Conference games
- 8. Coin Toss

Once a single team breaks the tie process and is declared the winner the tie breaking process goes back to the start and the process begins until the tie with the second and third teams is broken.

The Railbelt Conference Championship tournament will be a double elimination tournament. The tournament will take place the week before the ASAA State Flag Championship weekend.

Section 8: State Championship

- Conference State Berths
 - Cook inlet Conference 5
 - Railbelt Conference 3

Section 9: All-Conference Team Selection

- A. First and Second Team All-Conference selections will be recognized.
- B. The Railbelt regular season champion and runner up schools will nominate 5 All-Conference athletes, the remaining schools (3,4, and 5) will nominate 3. Schools are encouraged to only nominate those players worthy of nomination.
- C. Coaches will need to supply nominations no later than three days prior to the selection meeting. The first-round ballot should be prepared by the meeting time and date.
- D. Selection Process Coaches will rank players 14 through 1, with the best player in the conference receiving 14 points. If a tie occurs for 14th place, a second vote will take place to break the tie.
- E. Coaches will nominate their own players, but will not vote for their own players when voting begins. Coaches must vote for the maximum number allowed on each ballot unless their own

- players are included. Ballots with less than the maximum number voted will be returned to that coach for a revote.
- F. 1st team All-Conference will be made up of 14 athletes, the player with the most points will be the conference MVP. Any athlete that receives a vote will be on the 2nd team All-Conference.
- G. Each school will nominate a good sport recipient.
- H. Each school will nominate a coach of the year recipient.
- I. The ballots will be marked by the coaches and collected by the meeting host. All votes will be public and tallied for all to see.
- J. Coaches are encouraged to bring information supporting the merits of their nominees and will be allowed time to speak.
- K. The head coach or designee must be in attendance at the coaches meeting or the nominations from that school will not be accepted.
- L. The host school will be responsible for ordering and paying for conference awards.
- M. Host school will break all ties.

Section 10: Hosting Events

- ITEM 1: It is recommended that medical personnel (EMT's, Paramedics, doctor) will be present during all football games.
- ITEM 2: Crowd control is the responsibility of the host school. Spectators will not interfere with coaches or officials.
- ITEM 3: Only certified officials shall be contracted to officiate any flag football game.
- ITEM 4: The gathering and compilation of game statistics is the responsibility of both teams for their own use. The responsibility for reporting game results and statistics to the press rests with home team.

Section 11: Location of the All-Conference Meeting

Each school in the conference will share the responsibility of hosting the all-conference meeting. This will be based on the following rotation schedule:

•	2024	Colony High School	Knights
•	2025	Lathrop High School	Malamutes
•	2026	North Pole High School	Patriots
•	2027	Palmer High School	Moose
•	2028	Redington High School	Huskies
•	2029	Wasilla High School	Warriors
•	2030	West Valley High School	Wolfpack
•	2031	Houston High School	Hawks

Once each school has hosted the all-conference meeting over an 8-year rotation, a new rotation cycle will begin again.

During the coaches meeting, a discussion should be facilitated by the host school regarding any concerns or changes needed to the bylaws. These concerns will then be presented at the next region meeting.