Hockey BYLAWS Aurora Conference

Region III DII Hockey Bylaws

Aurora Conference Last Revised: Nov. 2025 | Adopted: Jan. 2024

ARTICLE X: BYLAWS



Section 1: Governing Rules

Hockey competition in the Aurora Conference will follow the guidelines established by the National Federation of High School Association Hockey Rule Book and all applicable rules and regulations established by ASAA and the Aurora Conference.

Section 2: Scheduling

All team schedules must consist of a home-home schedule or both home every other year' unless the game is canceled due to weather and other circumstances beyond the control of the school(s).

Point System

If a team plays 1 time it's worth 4 points, 2 times are 2 points each, a tie will be worth 1 point. Teams may mutually agree to play only one conference game for 4 conference points only in the event the game is canceled due to weather and other circumstances beyond the control of the school(s).

Section 3: Conference Champion

There will not be a conference tournament: Once the regular season has concluded an Aurora Conference champion will be determined by the following criteria:

- 1. Conference record
- 2. Regular season head to head competition (conference games)
- 3. Goal differential in head to head conference play
- 4. Regular season head to head competition (non-conference games)
- 5. Wins and losses vs. common opponents (non-conference games)
- 6. Conference goals against in league play. Teams that play one game only will double goals scored for those games.
- 7. Coin toss

After a tie is broken, the tie-breaking process will start over if necessary to break any remaining ties.

Section 4: All-conference selections & Awards Trophies and awards

Trophies and awards will be ordered and paid for by the Conference host school. There will be a team award for 1st place and 20 individual medals for the first place team members as well as 11 medals for the All Conference players, one MVP plaque, and one Coach of the Year plaque.

All Conference Team, Most Valuable Player, and Coach of the Year Selection

- A. Due to the high cost of travel, the All-Conference selection will be done by video conference or arranged by the Athletic Director of the host school the week prior to the state tournament.
- Teams may nominate players for All-Conference selection based on conference seeding as follows:
 - Teams seeded 1 and 2: 5 player selections
 - Teams seeded 3 and 4: 3 player selections
 - Teams seeded 5 and below: 2 player selections
- The week prior to the state tournament each head coach will submit their nominations for All-Conference consideration to the host school.
- During the video conference each head coach will have the opportunity to make the case for their nominations.
- Voting shall be done verbally and the 11 players receiving the most votes will be awarded All-Conference medals.
- The Most Valuable Player shall be the player who receives the most All-Conference votes or by consensus of the conference head coaches.
- The Coach of the Year will be voted on by the conference head coaches.
- The host school will break all ties.

Section 5:State Tournament Seeding

Seeding for the state tournament from the Aurora Conference shall be decided by the outcome of regular season conference games and the tie-breaking criteria in Section 3 above. The host school is responsible for notifying ASAA of the 3 schools that qualified.

Section 6: Bylaw Review & Revision

The host school Athletic Director shall distribute copies of the conference bylaws to all head coaches prior to the meeting to select the All-Conference Team. Coaches will review the bylaws and may submit proposed changes in writing to the host school AD. All proposed changes shall be discussed at the meeting to select the All-Conference Team. The host school AD will revise the bylaws to reflect all changes/updates agreed to by the head coaches and distribute them to the other conference ADs for final approval. Bylaw revisions will take effect the following season.

Section 7: Host Rotation

2023-24: North Pole 2024-25: Houston 2025-26: Delta 2026-27: Monroe 2027-28: Tri-Valley